• Every year since 2011, Rockford Area Schools has recognized the achievements of outstanding alumni with a Distinguished Alumni award, as well as district residents with an Honorary Diploma through a selection process by the Tradition of Excellence committee.  The recipients of both these awards are honored during the superintendent’s dinner followed by the commencement exercises in June.

    Distinguished Alumni recipients are selected annually based on outstanding professional and personal successes, as well as achievements in national, regional, or statewide prominence either in their professional fields or through their involvement in civic, cultural or charitable activities. 

    Distinguished Alumni Nomination Form

  • Past Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

    2018 - Gloria Hanna, Class of 1965

    2017 - Steven Mengelkoch, Class of 1968

    2016 - Dr. Alex Knodell, Class of 2003

    2015 - Arlene Mutterer, Class of 1958

    2014 - Sandra Lupino, Class of 1961

    2013 - Dr. Perry Buffie, Class of 1982

    2012 - Helen Scharber, PhD. Class of 1999

    2011 - Bernard Lieder, Class of 1940

               Ruth Orrick, Class of 1976