Skip To Main Content



Rockford Area Schools and Northwest Suburban Integration School District

Northwest Suburban Integration School District (NWSISD) is a collaborative of seven area school districts in the northwest metro.  We provide our schools and communities with a variety of programs and services to promote racial equity and cultural awareness.  We provide opportunities for students to participate in education programs that are multi-cultural, varied, and racially integrated.  Program options are voluntary and available to families based on school choice.

Through magnet programming, families will experience the following:

  • An opportunity to experience a K-12 magnet series within one theme: The Arts, International Baccalaureate, or STEM/STEAM.
  • A large variety of school choice options within our eight member districts.
  • Magnet programming that eliminates, reduces, or prevents racial isolation in elementary and secondary schools.
  • Continuation of transportation for magnet students if they move anywhere within member district boundaries.

The seven member districts of NWSISD include:

  1. Anoka-Hennepin School District 
  2. Brooklyn Center Schools 
  3. Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools 
  4. ISD728 Elk River | Otsego | Rogers | Zimmerman 
  5. Fridley Public Schools 
  6. Osseo Area Schools, and
  7. Rockford Area Schools. 

Collectively, NWSISD and its member districts have a charge to work together on integration and achievement goals.

Entrance into NWSISD magnet schools is application based.  Priority application registration is open mid-October through end of December with the lotteries taking place beginning of January.  

To learn more about NWSISD, its application timeline and to apply via online application, please visit